Image Image Image 01 Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to Top

To Top

2012 September

Benefit for WNCA

WNCA poster design

Come celebrate 30 years of Western North Carolina Alliance

Thursday, October 11 6-9pm

The Asheville Affiliates are proud to team up with Western North Carolina Alliance to celebrate 30 years of protecting our mountains, forests, and rivers. Come out to “A Night in the Forest” from 6:30-9:30 p.m. on October 11th. The celebration will be at the beautiful Lift Studios in the River Arts District, and will feature food, drinks, live music – and fun!

WNCA is the region’s oldest grassroots environmental non-profit. Utilizing a combination of advocacy, scientific research, and community collaboration, WNCA and its chapters and partners throughout Western North Carolina work to protect the natural heritage of our region so that people and the environment can thrive.

The event will feature live jam featuring 12 local artists including, Chelsea Labate from 10 Cent Poetry, Gregory Scott (local singer/songwriter), Alex Krug of the Alex Krug Trio, Ben Melton of John Wilkes Booth and The Black Tooth, Caromia Tiller (local singer/songwriter), Jon Stickley of Town Mountain, Dan Hettinger of Shorty Can’t Eat Books, Dan Shearin of Uncle Mountain, Dulci Ellenberger of Now You See Them and Sweet Claudette and the Birds, Ryan Furstenberg of Uncle Mountain and The Moon and You, Melissa Hyman of The Moon and You, and Sweet Claudette and the Birds.

Tickets are $25 in advance by clicking HERE, or $30 at the door.

TEDx Asheville 2012: The Edge

TEDx poster design

Tickets are on sale now for TEDx Asheville 2012

TEDx Asheville will be held November 4 at the Diane Wortham Theatre. If you missed it last year, be sure to get your tickets soon. Tickets are expected to sell out by October 5th.

Updates: The TEDx Asheville team has announced the first three speakers. Grammy Nominee Casey Driessen, Interfaith minister and healer Anne Heck, and TIME Magazine science editor and author Jeffrey Kluger.

You can find out more about this year’s lineup below.